Cultural & Special Interests

ACADEMIC CULTURAL & SPECIAL INTERESTS GOVERNANCE & PROGRAMMING
MEDIA PERFORMANCE PRE-PROFESSIONAL
POLITICAL RECREATIONAL & SPORTS RELIGIOUS
SERVICE & VOLUNTEERING    

 

Active Minds:

Active Minds promotes mental health awareness within the Stonehill community and beyond. We come together to speak out against the stigma and discrimination that surrounds mental illness. Active Minds provides a safe space to discuss mental health and resources for those struggling. 

Contact: Mara Pollick, mpollick@students.stonehill.edu

Afro-Caribbean Club:

The Afro-Caribbean Club strives to educate Stonehill about the different identities within the African diaspora. While celebrating Afro-Caribbean beliefs and ancestry, we empower members to develop a deeper understanding of cultures, share their traditions, and celebrate African heritage through discussions, trips, and events.   

Contact: Evaudie Paul, epaul@students.stonehill.edu

Art Club:

Also known as "Craft Club," we make some of the many Pinterest crafts that we have always wanted to attempt to create (e.g., canvas paintings, succulent decorating, crayon melting, coasters, fleece tie blankets)! All supplies are provided and the crafts we make are great dorm decorations or even gifts.  

Contact: Bethany Kane, bkane@students.stonehill.edu

Asian American Society (SAAS):

SAAS works closely with the Office of Intercultural Affairs to create a greater understanding and recognition of our Asian community. We promote awareness and respect to several cultures and ethnicities. All are welcome to attend our biweekly meetings to discuss issues pertaining to racial stereotypes, explore cultural activities such as origami, and sponsor events during Asian Heritage month in April.  

Contact: Elizabeth Blake, eblake1@students.stonehill.edu

Autism Speaks U Stonehill:

Autism Speaks aims to inspire and support students and faculty and raise their awareness. The goal is to make a difference in the autism community.  

Contact: Linsey Pelletier, lpelletier@students.stonehill.edu

Ben’s Bells:

The mission of Ben's Bells is to teach individuals and communities about the positive impacts of intentional kindness and to inspire people to practice kindness as a way of life.  

Contact: Sydney DeJoie, sdejoie@students.stonehill.edu

Colleges Against Cancer:

Working towards raising awareness about cancer, our most popular events include traveling to Hope Lodge to cook dinner for cancer patients and making holiday cards for Boston Children’s Hospital.  

Contact: Jessica Williams, jwilliams5@studnets.stonehill.edu

Creative Writing Club:

Creative Writing Club is open to students with or without creative writing experience. Meeting weekly, students can choose to share their work, and other students provide compliments and constructive criticism on the work!  

Contact: Rachel Riani, rriani@students.stonehill.edu

DECA (Distributive Education Clubs of America):

DECA prepares students for post collegiate jobs. Through international conferences and real-world guest speakers, we aim to provide real world business experience necessary for success beyond the class room. While it is a business-oriented club, the skills learned and developed translate to all majors.  

Contact: Domenic Dellamano, ddellamano@students.stonehill.edu

disABILITY Enlightenment Project:

DEP discusses current topics about disabilities occurring in the world, and ways Stonehill can be a more inclusive environment. We also hold different dialogues about different intellectual and developmental disabilities.  

Contact: Grace LeBlanc, gleblanc@students.stonehill.edu

Fashion Club:

This club is a great way for students with an interest in fashion to get together and share their interest!  

Contact: Fiona Lu, ylu@students.stonehill.edu

Financial Wellness Club:

Contact: Mason Jeffers, mjeffers@students.stonehill.edu

Finer Things Club:

Contact: Anna Leatherwood, aleatherwood@students.stonehill.edu

Food Truth:

Food-Orientated Club works on adding real (e.g., local, ecologically sound, fair, humane) food to Stonehill's campus. We work on making students aware of the origin of food and the effects that your food choices have on the environment.  

Contact: Claire Farnan, cfarnan@studnets.stonehill.edu

French Club:

We foster and promote a love for all things French and francophone, as well as celebrate aspects of the culture including food, arts, cinema, lifestyle, travel, and fashion. All are welcome to explore France through our fun meetings such as a Cafe Croissant or a Cinema night! (No French experience needed.)  

Contact: Paige Ferreria, pferreira@students.stonehill.edu

Gaming Club:

This recreational club hosts small events featuring various video and tabletop games each weekend. These can be both competitive and casual events intended to build a strong sense of community.  

Contact: Nicholas Savino, nsavino@students.stonehill.edu

Girl Up:

No matter their background, girls have the power to transform themselves, their communities, and the world around them. Girl Up is a global movement of empowered young women leaders who defend gender equality. Through leadership development training, Girl Up gives girls the resources and platform to start a movement for social change wherever they are.

Contact: Lily Whitten, lwhitten@students.stonehill.edu

Love Blooms:  

Contact: Karen Demarest, kdemarest@students.stonehill.edu

Love Your Melon:

“Love Your Melon is an apparel brand dedicated to giving a hat to every child battling cancer and supporting the fight against pediatric cancer”. On campus we are dedicated to raising awareness through different events, whether that be tabling in the Commons or social media challenges.  

Contact: Heather Cook, hcook@students.stonehill.edu

M.A.T.U. (Mundos Apartes Tierras Unidas): 

Matu (Mundos Apartes Tierras Unidas) is an all inclusive Latinx club that educates students on the diversity and customs within Latinx culture by holding club meetings, events, and joining Latinx conferences.  

Contact: Katherine Perez, Kperez@students.stonehill.edu

Mahjong Club:

Students with an interest in the various forms of Mahjong or the curiosity to learn are welcome to join this group to learn more and to play a few games!  

Contact: Emily Yip, eyip@students.stonehill.edu

Make-A-Wish Club:

Tens of thousands of volunteers, donors and supporters advance the Make-A-Wish® vision to grant the wish of every child diagnosed with a critical illness. In the United States and its territories, on average, a wish is granted every 34 minutes. We believe a wish experience can be a game-changer.  

Contact: Janelle Poitras, jpoitras@students.stonehill.edu

Model U.N.:

We pull many disciplines together to solve the problems facing today’s global community. We attend a conference every academic year in New York City, which features thousands of students from around the world.  If global events interest you, no matter your major, Model UN has an outlet for your interest.  

Contact: Brendan Cooke bcooke@students.stonehill.edu

Rotaract Club:

Rotaract club serves to give back to the community through service by creating an environment where leadership, professional service, and community service are highly valued. We put on events, participate in service work, and give back to the community.    

Contact: Paige Barnard, pbarnard@students.stonehill.edu

Skyhawk Vision:

SkyHawk Vision Club prepares students to go into the Optometry or Ophthalmology field. Guest speakers educate us on what it is like work in that field and best ways to succeed in grad school. We also try to coordinate trips to go into the city to visit the New England College of Optometries Clinical and meet the students. 

Contact: Anna Walker, awalker3@students.stonehill.edu

S.E.A. (Students for Environmental Action):

SEA is concerned with all things sustainable and ecologically friendly. We meet once a week and try to host one event each month to increase education on campus. We welcome anyone to stop by our meetings, information is on our Facebook page!  

Contact: Molly Jones, mjones@students.stonehill.edu

Spanish Club:

We meet weekly, as well as have events such as movie nights, try different Spanish recipes, and converse in Spanish with our members. We discuss different topics including music, pop culture, and more! Learners of all levels are welcome and encouraged to join! Bienvenidos!  

Contact: Carolyn Hayes, chayes2@students.stonehill.edu

Students to End Alzheimer's:

We focus  on volunteerism, awareness and outreach, and research and education centered around Alzheimer's disease within the Stonehill community as well as the Easton/Brockton area. We strive to help those affected by Alzheimer's disease as well as advocating for improvements and change to Alzheimer's-related healthcare policies.  

Contact: Emily O’Malley,

WHEN (Women's Health & Empowerment NOW):

WHEN is an inclusive dialogue group focusing on issues pertaining to women. Meeting every Tuesday night, we discuss topics centering around women's health and empowerment. Past discussion topics have included underrepresentation of women in politics, the gender pay gap in women's sports, and the stigma surrounding menstruation.  

Contact: Joanna Jorgensen, jjorgensen@students.stonehill.edu

Back to Top