About Community Engagement Program

The Community Engagement Program provides opportunities for students to learn from, foster relationships with, journey alongside, and advocate for members of our local community. Along with regular volunteer opportunities, there are also one-time events in the community and on campus to engage with issues of social justice. Is there a cause here that you are passionate about but is not listed? Contact us!

Who organizes the Community Engagement Program?

The Campus Minister for Community Engagement, Brittany Lorgeree, works with a student intern and student leaders to execute the program. Brittany meets with the Volunteer Coordinators regularly throughout the year to ensure that the program runs smoothly and to stay updated and informed on our various volunteer sites. She also meets with our campus partners to discuss the program and collaborate on how to engage the community even more. Contact Brittany with any questions about the program! 

Stonehill's Community Partnerships

Find an off campus organization in any of the following areas: Animal Rights, Childcare, Cross Cultural Experiences, Development Disability Programs, Education and Mentoring, Elder Care Programs, Environmental Awareness, Health Care, Hunger and Homelessness, Mentoring Programs, and Women's Empowerment! 

Program Intern 
Riley Bast ‘21 

volunteer@stonehill.edu  


Program Director 
Brittany Lorgeree 

blorgeree@stonehill.edu 

Animal Rights  
Animal Protection Center of Southeastern Massachusetts 


Felicia Cafua ‘22 

fcafua@students.stonehill.edu  

Developmental & Intellectual Disabilities 
House of Possibilities  

Cam Clynes ‘22 

cclynes@students.stonehill.edu  

Julia Adams ‘20 (fall) 

jadams@students.stonehill.edu  


Bi-County Collaborative  

Sydney Crain ‘22 
scrain@students.stonehill.edu  

Education & Tutoring 
School on Wheels  
Kelsea Albertson ‘21 (fall)  

kalbertson@students.stonehill.edu  

Hannah McCarthy ’20 (spring) 

hmccarthy1@students.stonehill.edu  

Elder Care 

Heights Crossing 

Haley Fedorowicz ‘20 

hfedorowicz@students.stonehill.edu  

Environmental Awareness 
The Farm at Stonehill 

Louisa Rossell ‘21 

lrossel@students.stonehill.edu  

Health Care 
Brockton VA 
Dana Hernitche ‘20 

dhernitche@students.stonehill.edu  

Hunger & Homelessness 
My Brother’s Keeper 
Lilia McCarron ‘22 

lmccarron@students.stonehill.edu  

Horizons for Homeless Children 

Jaclyn Shuttleworth ‘21 

jshuttleworth@students.stonehill.edu   

Mentoring 
Old Colony YMCA Mentoring  
Emma Bergstrom '22 

 ebergstrom@students.stonehill.edu  

Women’s Empowerment 
Health Imperatives 
Kelli Cronin ‘20 

kcronin3@students.stonehill.edu  

Additional Sites

Stonehill students also volunteer at the following organizations:

  • American Cancer Society/Relay for Life
  • Arbors Assisted Living
  • The Bridge Center
  • Brockton Area Arc
  • Brockton Interfaith Community
  • Cape Verdean Association
  • Catholic Charities
  • Children Museum's in Easton
  • Coaching 4 Change
  • Easton Food Pantry
  • Father Bill's & MainSpring
  • Girl Scouts of Southeastern Massachusetts
  • Greater Boston Food Bank
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Holy Cross Family Ministries
  • Jimmy Fund
  • Kindred Hospice
  • Old Colony YMCA Family Branch
  • Residences at 5 Corners Assisted Living
  • Taunton Housing Authority
  • Trinity Catholic Academy

If you are interested in serving with any of these organizations or an additional organization not found on this list, please contact us!

Volunteer Coordinator Mission Statement

Our 2016-2017 volunteer coordinator team worked together to create this mission statement to describe their role as student leaders on campus:

As volunteer coordinators, we will actively motivate, guide, and support our fellow volunteers in a respectful manner. We will learn, recognize, and teach the implications of privilege and systemic oppression. We will strive to break any pre-existing stigma of our surrounding communities for we recognize that our community has so much to offer us. We will commit to serve with compassion, understanding, and humility. We will share our passions and experiences to spread awareness and promote change in regards to social justice. We will uphold the dignity of all creation by recognizing that we are all united in divine love and we will welcome all that come through our doors with open arms.