Since 1983, Stonehill College has awarded the Gaudete Medal to faculty, staff and administrators who achieve 20 years of committed service to the institution. This medal is presented annually during a Eucharistic liturgy held on the vigil of the third Saturday of Advent. Following Mass, award recipients typically join past medalists for a celebratory dinner. 

The third Sunday of Advent is otherwise known as Gaudete Sunday. The Latin phrase “Gaudete in Domino Semper,” meaning “Rejoice in the Lord always,” is featured in the opening of the liturgy held on this day.  

When designing the Gaudete Medal for the College, Italian artist Enrico Manfrini cast this phrase with the image of Jesus Christ and Mary, the Blessed Mother, on the front of the award. Stonehill’s seal is on the reverse side of the medallion.  

Due to COVID-19 concerns, the Gaudete Celebration was not held in 2020. Last year’s recipients were recognized alongside 2021’s honorees during this year’s event.  

2020 Recipients 

Robert Andrews, Custodian III, Facilities Management 

Stephen Bunker, Groundskeeper III, Facilities Management 

Rev. John Denning, C.S.C., President of Stonehill College 

Marilena Hall, Professor of Chemistry, Chemistry Department Chair 

Maureen Jeffrey, Clerk, Mail Services 

Peter Krysko, Associate Director, Athletics 

Ronald Leone, Professor of Communication, Cinema Studies Program Director, Digital Media Production Program Director 

Lisa Richards, Director of the Annual Fund, Development 

Cheryl Schnitzer, Professor of Chemistry 

Rev. Kevin Spicer, C.S.C., Dean of the May School of Arts & Sciences, James J. Kenneally Distinguished Professor of History 

Bonnie Troupe, Director, Office of Research, Grants & Sponsored Projects 

2021 Recipients

Patricia Brown, Head Coach/Assistant Director, Athletics 

Nicole Casper, Director, Archives and Historical Collections 

Christine DaCosta, Executive Assistant, Advancement 

Steven Daversa, Clerk, Mail Services 

Nancy Dunsing, Executive Assistant, Academic Affairs 

Mary Garland, Accounts Payable Supervisor, Controller's Office 

Heather Heerman, Chief of Staff, Executive Office 

Cathy Jones, Executive Assistant, Student Affairs 

Alessandro Massarotti, Associate Professor of Physics