Moses to Receive Honorary Doctor of Science Degree

Stonehill Trustee Marsha Moses ’75, Ph.D., the Director of the Vascular Biology Program at Boston Children's Hospital, will receive an honorary doctorate in science at Stonehill College’s 63rd Commencement on Sunday, May 18.

Marsha Moses '75, Ph.D.
Marsha Moses '75, Ph.D.

Moses is the Julia Dyckman Andrus Professor at Harvard Medical School and the Director of the Vascular Biology Program at Boston Children's Hospital. She has had a long-standing interest in identifying and characterizing the biochemical and molecular mechanisms that underlie the regulation of tumor growth and progression. Dr. Moses and her laboratory have discovered a number of angiogenesis inhibitors that function at both the transcriptional and translational level, some of which are being developed for clinical use.

Named a pioneer in the exciting field of Biomarker Medicine by the Journal of the National Cancer Institute, Dr. Moses established a Proteomics Initiative in her laboratory that has led to the discovery of panels of noninvasive urinary cancer biomarkers that can predict disease status and stage in cancer patients and that are sensitive and specific markers of disease progression and therapeutic efficacy of cancer drugs. A number of these urine tests have been made commercially available. These diagnostics and therapeutics are included in Dr. Moses’ significant patent portfolio which is composed of both US and foreign patents.

Dr. Moses’ basic and translational work has been published in such journals as Science, the New England Journal of Medicine, Cell and the Journal of Biological Chemistry, among others. Dr. Moses received a Ph.D. in Biochemistry from Boston University and completed a National Institutes of Health postdoctoral fellowship at Boston Children's Hospital and MIT. She is the recipient of a number of NIH and foundation grants and awards. Dr. Moses has been recognized with both of Harvard Medical School's mentoring awards, the A. Clifford Barger Mentoring Award (2003) and the Joseph B. Martin Dean’s Leadership Award for the Advancement of Women Faculty (2009). She received an honorary M.S. degree from Harvard University in 2006. In 2013, she received the Honorary Member Award from the Association of Women Surgeons of the American College of Surgeons. Dr. Moses was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies of the United States in 2008 and to the National Academy of Inventors in 2013.