American Studies Faculty

American Studies majors have the opportunity to draw upon the strengths of faculty in several departments, typically taking courses in History, English, Sociology, Communication, Political Science, Economics, Visual & Performing Arts and Religious Studies, among others.

Name Info Phone

Linzy A. Brekke-Aloise

Associate Professor of History Gender & Sexuality Studies Program Director
Office: Duffy 269
508-565-1283 lbrekke@stonehill.edu

Todd S. Gernes

Assistant Dean of General Education Associate Professor of History and American Studies Writing Program Director
Office: Duffy Suite 131
508-565-1946 tgernes@stonehill.edu

Shane J. Maddock

Professor of History
Office: Duffy 247
508-565-1382 smaddock@stonehill.edu

Akira Motomura

Associate Professor of Economics Economics Department Chair Sports, Science and Society Co-Program Director
Office: Duffy 290
508-565-1149 amotomura@stonehill.edu

Andrea Opitz

Assistant Professor of English and American Studies American Studies Program Director
Office: Cushing Martin 127
508-565-1305 aopitz@stonehill.edu

Margaret E. Pierce

Associate Professor of Education Education Studies Department Chair
Office: Education 205
508-565-1901 mpierce@stonehill.edu

Robert R. Rodgers

Assistant Professor of Political Science Pre-Law Advisor
Office: Martin 220
508-565-1173 rrodgers@stonehill.edu

John C. Rodrigue

Professor of History Lawrence and Theresa Salameno Professor of History
Office: Duffy 245
508-565-1664 jrodrigue@stonehill.edu

Laura T. Scales

Associate Professor of English
Office: Cushing Martin 131
508-565-1793 lscales@stonehill.edu